Skip to content

New Job!

April 17, 2009

ZOOM ZOOM!

I have some great news to share! Starting Monday, I will begin my new career with Mazda North American Operations (MNAO)! I accepted my offer on Wednesday afternoon to take over as District Manager for the Memphis District. The job is pretty much the same as I held with Ford except that I will be covering a larger geographic area (Memphis, Little Rock, Nashville, Jackson) but a smaller number of dealerships (11 vs. 14). I will report to the Gulf Regional Office in Houston, TX but we will be staying put here in Memphis!

Staying in Memphis and landing the job with Mazda is definitely a win-win for us. I was in talks with Mazda for the same job in a different district (Coastal Carolinas) back in October but the company realigned districts and eliminated the position. I was pretty excited about the opportunity back then but it wasn’t the best timing to move. Staying in Memphis allows Jackie to finish school here at the University of Memphis. For those who don’t know she’s working on her Master’s in Education and has another year left in the program. I think she was tired of going to class and being my sugar momma while I was unemployed so she’s probably more excited about me going back to work than I am.

I’m very excited about Mazda and the opportunities both for my career (MNAO has just 600 employees in the U.S.) and for the company. Mazda is lean and profitable. They have a great niche market and are continuing to to define the “emotion of motion”. There are plenty of great product releases at the moment with new Mazda6 and Mazda3 being the latest! There are great new refreshes to the CX-7 and CX-9 (Motor Trend SUV of the Year in ’08) crossovers coming soon as well. More news to fill your inboxes after I start.

Oh, and I just found out that our Region Meetings next week with have a sports theme – so needless to say, I will be rocking the Team Coy Detroit Tigers jersey on MLB day!

A BIG THANK YOU!

I wanted to take a second and say “Thanks!” to everyone for your support, help, job searching, words of wisdom, letters of recommendation and referrals, etc during my job search! It was a struggle, but I learned a lot and I think I will be a better person and better in my career because of it.

The biggest thanks goes to my wife, Jackie. Thanks for putting up with me and all the stresses that came with the unemployment and thanks for being supportive and pushing me everyday! You’re the best!

WWW.BENCOY.COM

Thanks for all the input on the website – especially Doug Peterson. It was a huge help! Just wanted to let you all know that I will be moving the url (www.bencoy.com) to this blog soon. It will continue to be mostly business, marketing, automotive, motivational so that I can use it in my job.  Feel free to subscribe and follow it if you’d like. The blog is currently at https://bencoy.wordpress.com.

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 11:30 am

    Congratulations Ben!

  2. January 27, 2010 11:41 am

    I thought I commented on this a long time ago, but rereading, I guess not! I love you and i think it’s great that you are sharing your insights with the world. The blog is looking better every day!

Leave a Reply

