Skip to content

How are you turning over your customers?

March 16, 2009

When I was shopping around for my wife’s engagement ring, I walked in and out of every jewelry store around and did loads of research trying to find the best ring.  I had done some research ended up choosing Whiteflash.com, an online exclusive retailer.  They have an incredible inventory of diamonds and feature the only online brand of Hearts and Arrows ideal cut diamonds available.

I was able to search the entire inventory online, looking at detailed photos of diamonds and selecting the exact ring that I wanted.  When I had everything picked out, I was still slightly skeptical so I decided to call and speak with a consultant.  I quickly built a relationship with James Ramey, and he lead me through the entire process.

James went above and beyond, making suggestions, sending additional photos and following up to make sure I was 100% satisfied.  When it came time to buy wedding bands, I called James and again was completely satisfied.  He quickly made an advocate out of me and I suggest Whiteflash to everyone I know – not just because they give me $100 for referrals or because I got a ring worth almost twice what I paid – but because of their great customer service.

Recently, I received an email from a different sales consultant at Whiteflash.  It was a generic email stating that he hadn’t heard from me in a while, asking if I was still completely satisfied and telling me of a new promotion.   Having no relationship with this consultant, I have to assume that James is no longer with the company or has moved into a new role.  His client list, including me, has been redistributed.  I have not received any notice, nor an introduction from the new consultant and don’t feel nearly as valued as I did with James.

I know from my experience in the automotive business, that high turnover in your sales team makes it hard to retain trusting relationships between your customers and your business.    What is your sales team doing to strengthen these relationships?  Making habits out of these three steps is a must.

Notify the customer – I think some companies are so worried about making a customer feel like they are being passed around that they don’t want to let them know they are.  Instead of just informing the customer of the change, companies just hope they don’t realize it and just keep coming back.  Customers want to be in the know.  Send an email from the Owner or a Manager.  Include them and they will feel that you care and trust you and their new consultant.

Introduce yourself – This is my biggest beef.  When you meet a potential prospect, you probably don’t hesitate to tell them your name, whip out a business card and explain that you will do anything to help them in their decision to buy.  Why on Earth would you treat a customer who has already trusted your product and your store any differently?  Take that new list of orphan customers and call or email every single one.  Make it a habit.

Follow-up – Again, this is why so many sales people fall short of their goals.  They close a sale and forget about the customer completely.  It sounds like common sense but we get so caught up thinking about new prospects that we forget about the ones who are right in front of us.  This, of course means, meaningful follow-up.  Write things down about your clients.  Learn about their lives.  You need to actually care about them not just about the sale.  Do this and you will have customers calling to buy from you for a change.

It’s all about communication and caring.  Make the extra effort to do this and you’ll reap the rewards.

Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 7:09 pm

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

Leave a Reply

